HSL Sherwood A. Modestino Award

Each spring, HSL gives the “Sherwood A. Modestino” award to the graduate student or non-staff postdoc who has done the most to contribute to the work and spirit of the HSL. The winners invariably are people who have served as our “gatekeepers”. They focus not only on their own research, but are interested in and knowledgeable about other HSL projects as well, and help other students by volunteering as research subjects, or by serving as internal consultants, offering help solving specialized programming or electromechanical design problems, offering to help edit their student colleagues’ thesis drafts and presentations. They often help to recruit and mentor UROPs, and walk visitors (including prospective graduate or high school students and sometimes reporters) around the lab, and organize tours and graduate student poster sessions, and safety meetings.

The award is named for Sherry Modestino, MVL’s administrator/computer system manager in the 1970s and 80s. Sherry valued these qualities in our students – and possessed them herself. Winners’ names are also on display in 37-219, and each also receives a plaque.

Previous Sherry Award Winners
2019 Richard Fineman
2018 Hosea Siu
2017 Sherrie Hall
2016 Conor Cullinane
2015 Brad Holschuh
2014 Ana Diaz
2013 Forrest Meyen
2012 Aaron Johnson
2009 Allison Anderson
2008 Jaime Mateus
2007 Hirofumi Aoki
2006 Daniel A. Buckland
2005 Jessica L. Edmonds
2005 Kristen A. Bethke
2004 Philip A. Ferguson
2003 Jessica Marquez
2003 Christopher Carr
2003 Erika Brown
1996 Keoki Jackson
1992 Dave Balkwill
1991 Nick Groleau
1990 Daniel M. Merfeld
1989 Mark Shelhamer